The Latest

The 97th Annual Santa Fe Indian Market Announces Best of Show Winners

Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota) is awarded Best of Show at Santa Fe Indian Market 2018 Awards Ceremony in the Classification of Diverse Arts

SANTA FE, N.M., Aug. 17, 2018 — Santa Fe Indian Market is pleased to announce this year’s Best of Show, Best of Class, and special award winners in a variety of classifications. For 97 years, Santa Fe Indian Market, the world’s largest and most prestigious Indian art market, has awarded Best of Show winners to the nation’s most exceptional artists in a variety of juried categories. 

Over 40 judges, experts in various mediums spent all day August 16 reviewing and critiquing this year’s entries and determining the winners. The announcement of the Best of Show, Best of Class, and Special Award winners was made publicly at the Best of Show Luncheon on Friday August 17.

This year’s overall Best of Show winner is Kevin Pourier of Scenic, South Dakota. The Dobkin Family Foundation generously underwrites the 2018 Best of Show Award of $10,000. The work is a belt with portraits of Native women from around the country, carved from buffalo horns.

“During the Standing Rock protests, there was a lot of coverage about men. But the women were there. They were cooking and taking care of the families and then out on the front lines. My wife said, ‘you need to create something for the women warriors,’” Mr. Pourier explained as he accepted the award. Regarding the buffalo horns, he said “They have been used by my Lakota ancestors since the beginning of time.”

This year’s Best of Class winners by classification are: 

Class I: Jewelry Farrell Pacheco (Santo Domingo Pueblo)
Class II: Pottery Nancy Youngblood (Santa Clara Pueblo)
Class III: Painting, Drawing, Graphics & Photography Cara Romero (Chemehuevi Indian Tribe)
Class IV: Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carving & Sculpture Mavasta Honyouti (Hopi)
Class V: Sculpture Terresa White (Yup’ik)
Class VI: Textiles Nellie Begay (Navajo)
Class VII: Diverse Arts Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota)
Class VIII: Beadwork & Quillwork Dallin Maybee (Northern Arapaho/Seneca)
Class IX: Youth (artists aged 17 and under) Isaak Kohlmeyer (Jemez Pueblo)
Class XI: Basketry Jeremy Frey (Passamaquoddy)

2018 Special Award Winners:

Bernard Ewell Innovation Award: Adrian Pinnecoose 
IAIA Distinguished Alumni Award: Shane Hendren 
Helen Naha Memorial Award for Hopi Pottery: Karen Abeita 
Peter Dechert Award for Excellence in Native Art: Timothy Smith
Western Art Collector Magazine Editor’s Choice Award for Excellence: Derek No Sun Brown
Native American Art Magazine Editor’s Choice Award for Excellence: Jody Folwell
“Art of Technology” Award (New Award this year): Darby Raymond-Overstreet 

“Art is a way for countless Native people to support themselves while sharing and celebrating history, tradition and culture. There is no better way to experience this magic than by being at Santa Fe Indian Market,” said Ira Wilson, Executive Director of the Southwestern Association for Indian Arts (SWAIA), which produces the Santa Fe Indian Market.